Willow, Willow, Willow

Last week I was browsing the excellent Touchstone ‘Shakespeare in Performance’ page, looking for Shakespeare shows in London for a visit in early August. I was a bit annoyed to find that our travel dates do not coincide with the Globe’s production of Measure for Measure when, to my surprise, I saw a production of the play at a place called ‘The Willow Globe‘  (Y Glôb Byw) in Llanwrthwl, near Llandrindod Wells. Intrigued by the name, location, and choice of play – it’s a favourite of mine – I decided to take the trip north from Swansea to mid-Wales. I’m going to write a review of that production, by the London-based The Factory Theatre at Reviewing Shakespeare, so watch out for that soon. I want, here, simply to give this enchanting place a little more publicity. As the pictures below show, it’s a wonderful, distinctively green theatre. Sheep reside nearby and make their own contribution to the performance culture (in this case, through vocal interruptions or general background noise). The website www.shakespearelink.co.uk contains a wealth of information about the theatre and the wider projects organized by Philip Bowen and Sue Best, the Artistic Directors of Shakespeare Link. Do take a look. I look forward to returning to the Willow Globe and will watch out for future events organized in the area.

WG1WG

Indeed, now I’m based in Swansea permanently, I’m going to pay closer attention to the Welsh Shakespeare scene. I’ll be using the hashtag #WelshShax as a way of archiving information about performances in Wales or by Welsh companies. In the meantime, I’d be delighted to hear from anyone with an interest in Welsh Shakespeare. You can contact me through this blog or on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

